Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Central Informatics Bureau (Under the aegis of The Ministry of Technology, Communication and Innovation)


Computerisation of the Civil Service
The computerisation of various governmental agencies dates back to 1989 with the setting up of the following five major players: National Computer Board (NCB)Central Informatics Bureau (CIB)Central Information Systems Division (CISD), State Informatics Limited (SIL) and State Informatics Training Centre Limited (SITRAC - now part of the University of Technology, Mauritius).
The computerisation of various governmental agencies has constantly been on the increase since then. To date, there are around 60 departmental systems already operational and some 40 major projects under implementation. These back office applications are a major building block of the e-Government programme.
An overview of computerisation in the Civil Service is as follows: